top of page
Search
  • gkeator99

Paying attention



the little tiny things I have learned to pay attention to this summer:


  • the way that ocean air smells and feels

  • how the moon reflects on the ocean

  • the softness of rolling hills

  • The way a kid’s eyes smile when they laugh

  • the joy in someone's voice when they try something new and like it

  • Giggles at being caught up by an ocean wave

  • When I can't catch my breath when I see the sunset through the trees

  • the joy in people's voices when they say good morning to their friends and family

  • patience, both within others and in myself

  • the intricacy of spider webs

  • Genuine happiness and contentment

  • how many different ways there are to say “I love you”

  • how deeply kids focus when they are trying a new thing

  • how bubbles reflect little rainbows

  • the feeling of sunshine hitting my face

  • how easy it is to start a dance party

  • How good a salad tastes after camping

  • How dogs snuggle up and use their paws to get me to keep petting them

  • The kindness of strangers offering to take our picture

  • The way older couples look at each other while hiking

  • The generosity of friends

  • The way mist from a waterfall hits my face and waters my soul

  • The comfort of being with friends that know me

  • The settled feeling when things come full circle and prayers are answered

  • the moments people who know me well teach me things about myself

  • The smell of rain

  • The way cold crisp air tickles my nostrils and the back of my throat

  • The way dandelion fuzz floats through the air and sparkles

  • The feeling of my eyes crinkling as I smile

  • The way my breath feels when I am completely and utterly at peace and content

  • The way I squeal when the excitement in my body is too big for words

  • The butterflies in my stomach as I anticipate heading home

  • The way my whole body feels when I cannot stop smiling

  • How it feels to be held and secure, regardless of where I’ve been or where I’m going


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

If 2023 Were an Album

A dear friend recently told me about a song she had that she used to reflect upon her last year…a backing track of sorts. That mode of reflection encouraged me to actually sit down and type out the pl

This Daring Thing Called Hope

I was sitting in class last March when we received the following prompt: Write a letter to your current self, from your future self Oof. A few days before that I had accepted a brand new job, in a new

And a little child will lead them

There are so many things I could write now. Countless updates about discernment, fear, cross-country moves, soul wrenching goodbyes and miraculous hellos will be written about soon enough. For today,

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page